14 December 2013

My Pregnancy Q&A

  My Pregnancy Q&A

If you didn't know, I am currently 37 weeks and 5 days pregnant. I'm due on the 31st December, 2013 (Yes, New Year's Eve) and I'm having a little girl. I wanted to create a post about my pregnancy and share with you some bits and pieces about my pregnancy so far.
 
 
1. What dietary restrictions for pregnancy did you hold true to?
 
Well... at the start, I watched everything I ate then around the second trimester, I relaxed a little but then I got diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes (Diabetes in Pregnancy) so once again, I'm watching everything I eat because a part of being GD, I have to check my blood glucose levels 4 times a day (Once when I wake up in the morning and then an hour after breakfast, lunch and dinner). 
I must admit though, I do indulge in the occasional chocolate or cruskit with nutella and I have had some ham but I haven't touched alcohol (I'm not one to drink anyways). I always wash my fruit and veges before I consume them so I'm not too worried about that. I also don't eat colesaw or potato salads so I don't have to worry about that either.

2. How did you deal with people who said "just stop trying and it will happen!"?
 
The funny thing is that pregnancy is all about timing!!! Before I fell pregnant, I was diagnosed as a Pre-diabetic and I had to lose weight, see a dietitian and take some medication to help me get back to being a "normal BMI". I did all those things and they did take time but it did happen. I don't know about you but when I have my mind set on something (like another Mac eyeshadow), I work for it and "make it happen". You just deal with it. It didn't matter what others said to me, I was determined!

3. What is your most favorite and least favorite part about being pregnant?
 
Most Favorite: Feeling my little girl move around except when she knees me in the ribs or moves her bum in what feels like side to side booty shake. hahaha. I guess its how both myself and my husband interact with her. She does seem to get the occasional episode of stage fright when his hand is on my belly but then there's times where she goes all crazy funhouse on me and my belly looks like something out of an "Alien vs Predator" movie. 

Least Favorite: Well, Its currently summer here in Australia and the last week, the heat has really gotten to me. As a pregnant lady, you're already running 5 degrees or more hotter than anyone else and the heat just drains you. Luckily, I'm on maternity leave so I don't have to do too much at the moment but there were a few days there where I struggled. Oh and having to go to the toilet every 30-45 minutes. 
I guess you take the good with the bad. They're all moments I'll look back on and cherish but sometimes you just want it to end. I'm sure that's normal.
 

4. What has been the most helpful advice that someone has given you?
 
Breathe. Hahaha.

5. What is your birth plan?
 
I don't have an exact birth plan because there are so many variables with birth so I don't want to have a list of things that HAVE to be done which is pretty amazing for me because I'm so OCD. I am open to anything and I won't rule anything out like an epidural so I'll just go with the flow and I'll take whatever action I'll feel like doing at the time.

6. Do you have reservations about having a child near the holidays?
 
Not really. We don't go away around this time of year anyways so it isn't really a big thing for me. I know that I'm due on New Year's Eve but I just have that gut feeling that she's going to arrive at Christmas or around that time. She'll come when she's ready. I can't control that. She's let me enjoy 2 weeks of maternity leave so I can't complain!

7. What are you most excited about?
 
What is there to not be excited about? I guess its the beginning of a whole new chapter of my life. Different experiences, a different kind of love, raising a child, seeing the world through a different set of eyes... All of it. Even the shitty nappies and the early morning feeds. They're only little for so long.
I'm also pretty excited about seeing who she will look like. My husband and I are complete opposite looking people. I'm asian with olive skin and dark features where hubby is fair skinned with light coloured features so I'll be interested in seeing what she gets from who. 


8. Did you get any stretch marks?
 
Yes but only towards the end and they have only just recently gotten a little itchy. I put Vitamin E cream on them but gosh, they just drive me mad sometimes. I guess I'm not as lucky as some ladies who don't get any.

9. Did you change your skin care routine/products to ones that are safe and recommended during pregnancy?
 
A little. I have a combination skin type (normal/oily with occasional breakouts) and I would use products that contained Salicylic acid in them and you aren't supposed to use products that contain that so I haven't used those. Though I did use them for a couple of days towards the end because my skin got really bad but otherwise, I haven't had to really change my skin care routine much at all.

10. How will your hair and makeup routine change with less time? 

It doesn't take me long to get ready anyways. I guess I'll have to streamline it even more so. I'm sure I'll work something out.
 
 
I hope you enjoy reading these little tid-bits about my pregnancy.
 
The countdown is on...
 
R
xoxox 

2 December 2013

40 Beauty Questions

40 Beauty Questions


Seeing that I have some time to kill before this baby comes along (hopefully she doesn't come too early and I can enjoy some "me" time), I thought I'd do a blog post on beauty. My makeup/beauty collection has grown quiet a lot and I have tried a wider range of products, I thought I would share some of that beauty wisdom with you.


QUESTIONS:

 

SKINCARE


-How many times do you wash your face daily?
I wash my face once in the morning with my clairsonic mia and then I double cleanse at night time.
 
-What skin type do you have? (dry,oily,combo)

I'm a normal/oily/combination skin type. I mainly get oily around my T-zone but the rest of my face is normal.
 
-What is your current facial wash?

Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel. The one, the only, the greatest. I have used this for years and after trying a multitude of other brands, I always come back to this.
 
-Do you exfoliate?

Yes but not at much as I should. I usually exfoliate once a week using Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant or the Dermalogica Skin Prep Scrub.
 
-What brand do you use?

Dermalogica
 
-What moisturizer do you use?

I mainly use Dermalogica Active Moist during the day because its light and I don't get oily from it and Dermalogica Skin Smoothing Cream at night because you should always use a slightly heavier face cream at night because your face needs moisture most then. I use these two products over my Dermalogica Multi Active Toner and my Olay Total Effects Serum.
 
-Do you have freckles?

No. 
 
-Do you use eye cream?

Not usually but I've been trying out the Clinique Even Better Eyes Dark Circle Corrector. It does work but I don't think it's fantastic. I've been using this day and night for over a month now.
 
-Do you or did you have acne prone skin?

Everyone gets breakouts. Especially when you're pregnant like me. All of those hormones. Don't get me wrong, I have had the "pregnancy glow" but I still get breakouts like normal people. We all have our good and bad skin days.
 
-Did you ever have to use Pro-activ?

Nope and never will. I've heard so many bad things about the products, I'm staying away from it.


MAKE-UP


-What foundation do you use?
Hahaha. Funny question. Well I have a range of foundations to choose from depending on the coverage I'm after. At the moment, I'm using Mac Prolongwear foundation in the shade NC40. Its a medium coverage foundation and its great for my skin type. If I want a light coverage, I use my Bourjois 10 Hour Sleep Effect foundation in shade 75. I think this has been discontinued but I think its amazing.
 
-How about concealer?

Yes, I use concealer and Yes, I have a range of them as well depending on coverage. I have expensive ones from Mac (Moisture Cover, Prolongwear and Mineralize) and I have cheaper ones from Collections (from ebay), Revlon, Bourjois and even my Garnier roll on Anti dark circles (which is the best for when I don't want to wear foundation but just to cover up my dark circles).
 
-Do you know your undertone color?

I have yellow undertones like most Asian women.
 
-What do you think of fake eyelashes?

I think they're pretty cool but not on an everyday basis. I think they're great for glaming up a makeup look when you're going out somewhere but not for everyday use. Who has time to put on fake eyelashes every morning? Not I!
 
-Did you know that you are suppose to change your mascara every 3 months?

Yes and I do it without fail. I have had bad eye infections in the past because of using old mascara so I always change my mascara (and my toothbrush) every 3 months. 
 
-What brand of mascara do you use?

Maybelline The Falsies Black Drama in Waterproof. Mascara's are the hardest and most personal makeup product to find. I was using Loreal Lash Architect in Carbon Black but they changed the formula and now its crap.
 
-Sephora or MAC?

We don't have Sephora in Australia so its MAC all the way. I love MAC. My eyeshadow collection can vouch for that. 
 
-Do you have a MAC Pro-card?

No because you have to be a qualified Makeup Artist. I'd love one though.
 
-What makeup tools do you use in make up application?

Various brushes. Ranging from Real Techniques ones, to MAC ones, to Sigma Brushes. Sigma  Brushes are a great cheaper alternative to MAC ones and the Real Techniques ones are a great all rounder brush. The one thing I can't seem to love is the Beauty Blender... I think its just too much effort.
 
-Do you use make-up base/primer for the eyes?

I always use an eyeshadow primer for my eyes because I get the dreaded creasing. Silly oily Asian skin.
 
-For the face?

When I remember. I usually use primer for my face when I'm going out for a special occasion and not usually for day to day wear.
 
-What is your favourite eyeshadow (color or shade)?

Aw man... This is a tough question considering I have over 40 MAC eyeshadows. Seeing I can't just pin point 1 favourite eyeshadow, I will give you my top 5. They are: Woodwinked, Satin Taupe, Soba, Bronze and Antiqued. (Yes, they are all shades of brown.)
 
-Do you use pencil or liquid eyeliner?

Pencil during the day and Liquid for going out. Pencil can be smudged and made to look softer but Liquid is good for making a statement and being defined. 
 
-How often do you poke your eyes with an eyeliner pencil?

Yes, especially when I'm lining my tightline. I also hate getting makeup on my contact lenses. I'm not sure if other girls have this problem but argh!!!
 
-What do you think of pigment eyeshadows?

Not really my thing.
 
-Do you use mineral makeup?

I guess the only "mineral" makeup I have is my MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Powder in Medium Dark. 
 
-What is your favorite lipstick?

This is like the eyeshadow question. Hahaha. I guess for day to day wear, I love my Revlon Lipbutters. For outings, I either go for my Nyx lipsticks or my MAC ones.
 
-How about lipgloss?

I love the Nyx ones. I have a few I bought off ebay in various colours. I also love the Bourjois Color Boost Lip Crayons.
 
-What is your favorite blush to use?

My most used blush would be my MAC limited edition Launch Away. Its a soft pink and I'm not usually a pink kind of person but its so soft, it looks amazing.
 
-Do you buy your makeup on ebay?

Yes because there are a lot of brands we can't get here in Australia which annoys the crap out of me so I have to result to ebay or other online stores.
 
-Do you like drugstore makeup?

Yes but there's no substitute for quality AKA MAC.
 
-Do you go to CCO's? (cosmetic company outlets)

I don't know if Australia has any of these but if there is, I'd like to know about them. 
 
-Did you ever consider taking make-up classes?

Yes, I have. I have done a private makeup lesson with a MAC makeup artist and that was fantastic but I'd love to get a formal qualification in Makeup Artistry. One day...
 
-Are you clumsy in putting on makeup?

I wouldn't say I'm clumsy but I have my routine.
 
-Name a makeup crime that you hate?

Overdrawn eyebrows, too much foundation or over powdering. You ain't fooling anyone girlfriend.
 
-Do you like colorful shades of makeup (lipstick,eyeshadow) or neutral ones?

I guess that's the wonderful thing about makeup. You can express yourself with colour or just have a simple makeup look. I like both. Nothing beats a red lip.
 
-Which celebrity always has great make up?

There are many celebrities that have great makeup looks so you just can't pin point just one. But I'd have to say that Kate Winslet always looks amazing. She seems to always get her makeup done by Lisa Eldridge so I always watch her videos on youtube.
 
-If you could leave the house using just ONE make up item,what would you use?

Mascara. Always mascara. Silly flat, thin lashes.
 
-Could you ever leave the house without any makeup on?

Yes and on weekends I usually do. You should always have a makeup free day.
 
-Do you think you look good even without any makeup on?

I think I look alright. We all have our good and bad skin days. Makeup just helps sometimes.
 
-In your opinion, what is the BEST makeup line?

It depends on the product. I think that some companies do certain products better than others. For instance, MAC does the best eyeshadows. Hands down! Bourjois do amazing foundations. Revlon do amazing lip products. Rimmel do awesome nail polishes. You can't just say there's one great makeup line.

-What do you think of Makeup??

I think that makeup is a great way to express yourself. You can do so many things with makeup and use different colours or techniques depending on how you feel. You should never be scared to try something new with makeup, whether its trying a new product or wearing that bright coloured eyeliner. You might be surprised but how it looks. If you're unsure about something, research it. I done that with all the products I own. I've researched the crap out of them. Some of them are hit and miss but you just never know unless you try. (I say this mainly in regards to mascaras. Oh boy do I hate trying to find a decent mascara. I hope Maybelline don't change the formula to the current one I use otherwise I'll be very angry). 

Have fun with makeup. If you don't like it, just wipe it off and start again! Its that easy.

R
xoxox